Allie Ziegler Blog 7: Tough Goodbyes

This week was one that I will never forget for the rest of my life. It was truly a roller coaster of emotions. I feel like it is hard to realize how much someone really has impacted your life until it is time to say goodbye. This week was filled with some really tough goodbyes. I am going to make this journal entry and little different from the rest and tell you about just a few of the people here in India who have truly left an impact on my life and taught me some unforgettable lessons.

First person who left a huge impact on me is my teacher Juanita. Wow. Where to even start with the impact this woman has had on my life. In the six weeks of working with her, she made me a more confident teacher than I could have ever imagined. She was always so encouraging and taught me to be confident in my teaching ability. She will forever be role model in my teaching career. She taught me to keep life fun and never forget to laugh. We had the best times laughing about our height difference and me being her giant shadow. She shows so much love to all of her students. She makes a point to have a relationship with each individual student and that is something that I strive to do with my future students.

As for the students that I was with for the six weeks, thank you. Thank you for being so patient when I was learning. Thank you for being so loving and welcoming to me. Those students will always have a piece of my heart. They reminded me everyday, as I walked out of the elevator in the morning, that I was going into the right profession. They were a constant reminder of the passion that I have for education. I will talk about those students and there impact on me for years to come.

Sheral, the ultimate India tour guide and our mom for the last six weeks. Sheral taught me how to navigate India and do it like a pro. I never knew that I had the ability to stop six lanes of traffic with just the use of my hand. Sheral taught me to speak up for what I want. She made sure that we got the most of everything we did here. My experience truly would not have been what it was without this wonderful women, guiding me the whole way. Our group was so blessed that we had Sheral to help us make the most of this experience.

Lastly, thank you India, for the many lessons that you taught me. Never will I complain about traffic back home. Thank you for the spicy yet delicious cuisine. Thank you for taking me back in time with all the rich history and culture this place has to offer. Thank you for showing me your people. The people of India are truly what makes this place so magnificent. The people that helped me through this journey showed me so much love and hospitality.

The impact this experience has had on me is hard to put into words. I have grown in ways that are still unknown. I know this trip has impacted me not only as an educator, but also as an individual. This trip is something that I will never forget and will always hold a place in my heart.

Leave a comment